jump to navigation

How to fix your frozen ipod June 29, 2006

Posted by farshadf in iPod, Uncategorized.
trackback

1. Check that your hold switch is off by sliding the switch away from the headphone jack.2. Press and hold the following combination of buttons buttons simultaneously for approximately 10 seconds to reset the iPod.

  • iPod 1G to 3G: “Menu” and “Play/Pause
  • iPod 4G+ (includes Photo, Nano, Video, and Mini): “Menu” and “Select
  • Shuffle: Turn it off, turn it on. Done.

If you have an iPod Mini or 4th gen iPod or higher, then you need to press the Menu and Select buttons, not the Menu and Play button, to restart. The Select button is the center button in the middle of the wheel. Upon reset, your will see the iPod name and the Apple logo. You may have to attach your power plug in your iPod to make this work. Your iPod should mount on your computer now. If not, keep reading.3. The iPod name and the Apple logo will briefly appear upon a successful restart before advancing to the Main Menu.

s your iPod Frozen? Methods & Resources to fix your frozen iPod!

So your expensive and cherished iPod is frozen, here are a few methods and resources to revive your frozen iPod to its former glory.

——- More info incase above does not work

How to unfreeze your iPod, in no particular order:
1. Wait until your iPod battery runs out, charge your iPod and turn on your iPod.
2. Hold down the menu and middle buttons on your iPod for 10-20 seconds.
3. Apple’s official “Reset iPod” Article
4. LifeHacker: “How to reset your frozen iPod
5. Command-Tab “Fixing a Frozen iPod

 

6. About.com: “How to Reset/Restart a frozen iPod Video

7. Occasionally an iPod, iPad or iPhone may freeze or fail to respond to your commands. This can happen for a number of reasons and does not necessarily indicate a serious problem. Sometimes they just need a restart   much like the way your computer needs a reset once in a while.Read more: http://www.methodshop.com/gadgets/ipodsupport/restart/index.shtml#ixzz1odHP9qbF

8.

One of the most frustrating problems to have with an iPad is when it becomes frozen, especially when the iPad freezes on a regular basis. Luckily, this is usually an easy fix. When an iPad becomes stuck or frozen, it tends to be an issue with multiple apps conflicting with each other or an app leaving behind a bit of corrupted memory.

http://ipad.about.com/od/iPad_Troubleshooting/a/How-To-Fix-My-iPad-Is-Frozen-Stuck-Freezes.htm

Comments»

1. Dean Kostadinovski - November 11, 2006

I have an Ipod Nano 2G and I tried both your suggestions and it is still frozen!What do I do now?

2. Dean Kostadinovski - November 11, 2006

Hey guys I’m back just saying I tried it again and it worked…SORRY

3. mazhar mahmood - January 11, 2007

I have a U2 special edition Ipod but it’s frozen what should I do?

4. tod schoeder - January 26, 2007

your fuckin’ ipod tips dont work…..ne more suggestions ehhh????

5. shayla - February 2, 2007

hold menu and the middle button at the same time…it should turn of in about 2-5 seconds! 🙂

6. Adam - February 9, 2007

Your the only site I found with the addition about 4th Generation or newer, that was extremely helpful. I’m a technology skeptic and bad with keeping receipts. Was really pleased that this was such a quick fix. Customer service at Best Buy makes my blood pressure rise, thanks a million!

7. sheebie - February 16, 2007

You’re a lifesaver! I tried your idea several times and it didn’t work (and yes I was holding down the menu and middle buttons at the same time) and then I realised I had the hold button on hahaha. So I tried it again and it worked like a charm! (By the way my ipod was NOT frozen because I had the hold button on. I put it on after it froze to see if it did anything). So thankyou very much for the tip – I was dreading how much it was going to cost to get it fixed.

8. alyssa miro - February 25, 2007

i have an ipod nano and it didn’t work

9. alyssa miro - February 25, 2007

please make the tips easier so i can get them =l

10. kristy - February 28, 2007

OMG you are awesome i was so scared i was going to lose all my songs…is it normal for my ipod to have to be reset or is that the beggining of problems?

11. SH - March 2, 2007

It still didn’t unfreeze, what do I do?

12. daonejack - March 5, 2007

it worked thanks fo the tip

13. the schwananater - March 6, 2007

ty i fuckin love you i thought it broke for good ty ty ty

14. Stephanie - March 12, 2007

Dear God! Thank you so much! YOU SAVED MY DAY!! I LOVE YOU!

15. Eddie cruz lopez - March 26, 2007

hey all try but i dont know if it will work or not so right bakc

16. MarkGalvez 8) - March 29, 2007

I did what u said but…..Nothin worked?!
Still frozen…Help?

17. MarkGalvez 8) - March 29, 2007

aw….tried it holding 10secs…..20secs…..1mins….Still nothin T.T
Wats wrong with this Thing ¤_¤
I nid a miracle…. of ipods
Nid Help
T.T

18. MarkGalvez 8) - March 29, 2007

Ow tried everything still nothin T.T
Maybe tomorrow it’ll work
T.T
Gimme more tips T.T

19. kayla - March 29, 2007

ok i have a pink nano (4G) and every time i want to play a song i cant hear anything. I go to a song and it wont start playing. Ive tried using other headphones and playig with the volume but nothing works..

20. amanda - March 31, 2007

thank you so much! you guys are great!!

21. Ash Dawgg - April 1, 2007

Thanks Shayla. I Was Skitzing. lol. My Dad Said If I Did’nt Fix It I Would Have To Do The Dishes lol. And Your Remedy Worked And Now He’s Doing Them. Yessss.

22. Grant Inglis - April 3, 2007

I have an ipod nano and it is a 2GB and i tried what you said but it didn’t work. What will i do?

23. Ipod Dude - April 4, 2007

Here it is to all your problems. this is an actual display of what you have to click to unfreeze your ipod here it is- http://www.command-tab.com/2006/03/30/hidden-ipod-commands/

24. Ipod Dude - April 4, 2007

http://www.command-tab.com/2006/03/30/hidden-ipod-commands/

Heres a better link to unfreeze ur Ipod

25. imnoobto - April 5, 2007

i have tried everything on every site

my 30 gig ipod video is frozen

half the screen has the recharging icon

the other half the main menu

any ideas? please

26. roonak - April 14, 2007

hey i got this ipod and its 30G and its frozen and i just got it 4-3 weeks ago!!!………..what do i do????

27. yo momma - April 17, 2007

help i ve done all your tips and all of them from other sites help

28. WOODSTOCK - May 1, 2007

BRILLIANT

29. blabla - May 8, 2007

I froze my sisters ipod by playing a game an then turning it off. I got so afraid that I broke it and I did your sugesstions and it worked!!!! Thanks

30. Penny - May 11, 2007

Shayla, I have the 2 gb and ur suggestion worked… THANK YOU…U ROCK

31. KB - May 12, 2007

I love you guys!!!!!!my brand new nano froze and i did what you told me and worked great.You don’t know how happy i am!!!! Why can’t the entire internet be as helpful as you.PEACE AND LOVE.thanks guys

32. pauli pocket - May 13, 2007

thank u so much i was at a party and i clicked on the song laffy taffy and i t wouldnt play so i went to the sone holding on(avril) and it wouldnt play and then i went back to the menu and i couldnt move anything so THANKS sooooooooooooooo much my dad would have killed me

33. FLwz4U - May 27, 2007

wow at first it didnt want to work!…but i kept on trying it….then i tried the menu and the select button again and it worked like a miracle!! wow thanx!

34. andie - June 13, 2007

okay i got it to reset but then it (ipod 2 gig nano) tells me to go to itune to restore…then it tries to restore and says it cannot…anyone have suggestions? please email me.

35. Unkown - June 28, 2007

Thanks ALOT!

I was about to kill my sister for playing games on it 24/7

36. larry - July 9, 2007

um my ipod is dead and it wont charge on the usb cord it wont turn on either???

37. northernstar - July 25, 2007

wow. bravo. i got a 30gig, about 6 month old ipod, and 2day it froze on me. what a drama:) lost a heart beat. anyway, fount your site, and followed yur suget…..worked perfectly. 10xsss 4 this cpr….bravo.

38. Caro - July 29, 2007

my ipod is dead, not charging, and when i plug it into charge all it does is show the battery with a little triangle with an exclamation point in it……idk if its frozen or what?? please help!!

39. jenaye - August 2, 2007

oh my gosh thank u it worked now i know what to do when my ipod freezes

40. Heather - August 6, 2007

ahhhh that words haha. Okay so I guess I just keep doing that when it gets frozen? kinda sucks but whatever I don’t wanna have to spend money on it ya know.

41. Brendan - August 22, 2007

thank god.it was starting to realy piss me off!

42. Isaac - September 13, 2007

OMG! THANK YOU SO MUCH for the tips! I was worried that I couldn’t find my receipt, I’ve a 30 GB Video, and man, i was worried, my Dad came over and was pissed when he saw me reading my Economics book and listening at the same time and then for some reason the iPod just froze. Thanx for the tips!


Leave a Reply

